Facts of National flags

All national flags are very colorful and very decorative with stars, stripes, etc. Those colors are not just colors but they contain some meaning or some information regarding that particular country. Now, let us know some facts about national flags.


The present flag of India had been adopted on July 22,1947 as free India National Flag. Indian flag contains three colors in equal horizontal portions and the centre of the middle portion has Dharma Charkha of emperor Ashoka. The three colors and the dharma chakra represents:

Saffron represents Courage and Sacrifice

White represents truth and purity

Green represents faith, fertility and growth

Dharma chakra is the wheel of virtue, also represents motion or growth


The present flag of Pakistan was adopted on August 11, 1947 as the Dominion flag of Pakistan, just before the 3 days of Country’s independence. The Pakistan flag consists of green, white colors with a moon and a star I it.

Green represents the Muslim population

White represents the minority population

Moon and Star represents the light & progress

3.United States of America

The present National flag of USA was adopted on July 4, 1960. It consists of thirteen horizontal strips of red alternating with white and 50 five pointed stars within a blue background.

The 50 stars represents the 50 sates of USA

The 7 red strips and 6 white strips represents 13 original colonies

Red represents hardiness and valor

Blue represents vigilance and justice

White represents purity and innocence


The present design of National flag of Brazil was adopted on May 11, 1992. It consists of a blue disc with 27 stars in it and a band with an inscription around the disc.

The blue disc represents the start sky

The stars represents the federal region

The inscription “ORDEM E PROGRESSO” is the national motto: Order and Progress

Green represents lush green fields and forests

Yellow represents Brazil’s wealth in Gold

5. Australia

The present National flag of Australia was adopted on 8 December, 1908. It consists of a union flag, one big Seven pointed Star and five small seven pointed stars.

Union flag represents the history of British Colonization

One big seven pointed star represents the country’s 6 States and 1 territory

Small star represents the southern Cross constellation, visible from all over Australia

6. Iceland

The present National flag of Iceland was adopted on June 17, 1944 , the day Iceland became a republic. The flag consists of a Cross with red and white colors in a blue field.

The Cross represents Christianity

Red represents the volcanoes on the Iceland

White represents the snow and ice covering the Iceland

Blue represents the surrounding North Atlantic Ocean

7. South Africa

The present National flag of South Africa was adopted on 27th April, 1994. The flag forms letter Y with yellow,green and white colors.

The Y represents the unification of various ethnic groups

Black, Green and Yellow represents the country’s black population

White, Blue and Red represents the country’s white population

8. Bahamas

The present National flag of Bahamas was adopted on 10th July, 1973. It consists three colors Black, Blue and Yellow.

Black represents the people of Bahamas and their desire to develop

Yellow represents the sandy beaches of 700 Bahamian islands

Blue represents Water

9. China

The present National flag of China was adopted on 1 October, 1949. The flag has a large golden star within an arc of four smaller golden stars, in a Chinese red field.

Red colour represents the communist revolution

Big star represents the communist Party

Small stars represents the 4 social classes: working class, peasantry, urban bourgeoise and national bourgeoise

10. France

The national flag of France was adopted on 15 February 1794. It is a tricolor flag with blue, white and red vertical wide strips.

White represents Clergy

Red represents nobility

Blue represents bourgeoisie

Categories: News