Things You Need To Know about Civil Services Examination

Being a civil servant is no simple dream. It requires constant effort and hard work. Making sure to put the right effort matters in making to the top of the list. Here in the below are the various things you need to know before you write Civil Services.


The Age limit is from 21 years to 32 years (General category) and 35 for OBC and no age limit for SC/ST

Education qualification – Graduation from any stream.


The Exam is divided into three stages

  • Preliminary Round
  • Mains
  • Interview

These are the three stages of a civil service examination. Stage two and three are combined together to rank the candidates.


There are two papers in this round. Each paper of 200 marks. Both are compulsory and it is objective type.  2 hours are given for each paper. And a negative marking of 1/3rd of the total of the particular question.

  • General Studies
  • CSAT

General Studies Paper Syllabus

  • Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography-Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Biodiversity, and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization.
  • General Science

CSAT Syllabus

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision-making and problem solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency, etc. – Class X level)

It is mandatory for the candidate to appear for both the exams and the minimum qualifying mark is 33%.


This examination consists of the following papers :

Qualifying paper

( Candidate have to qualify these two papers, only then rest of the papers will be evaluated)

Paper A : One of the language in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution. Candidate can chose any one from the list

Paper B : English

Structure of the language papers:

The types of questions asked are –

  1. Essay – 100 marks
  2. Reading comprehension – 60 marks
  3. Precis Writing – 60 marks
  4. Translation:
    1. English to compulsory language (e.g. Hindi) – 20 marks
    2. Compulsory language to English – 20 marks
  5. Grammar and basic language usage – 40 marks

Both the papers carry 300 marks each and in order to qualify, you need to score at least 25% in each. This marks wont be evaluated for the merit list.

Papers to be counted for merit

Paper I : Essay

Candidate will be asked to write essay on various topis to analyze the writing pattern ,behavior and thinking pattern too.

Paper II :  General Studies – I

Indian Heritage and culture, History and Geography of the world and society

Paper III :  General Studies – II

Governance, Constitution, Policy, Social Justice and International Relations

Paper IV : General Studies – III

Technology, Economic Development, Bio- Diversities, Environment, security and disaster management.

Paper V : General Studies – IV  

Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude

Paper VI : Optional Subject – Paper 1

Paper VII : Optional Subject – Paper 2

These are the optional Papers


(ii) Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science

(iii) Anthropology

(iv) Botany

(v) Chemistry

(vi) Civil Engineering

(vii) Commerce and Accountancy

(viii) Economics

(ix) Electrical Engineering

(x) Geography

(xi) Geology

(xii) History

(xiii) Law

(xiv) Management

(xv) Mathematics

(xvi) Mechanical Engineering

(xvii) Medical Science

(xviii) Philosophy

(xix) Physics

(xx) Political Science and International Relations

(xxi) Psychology

(xxii) Public Administration

(xxiii) Sociology

(xxiv) Statistics

(xxv) Zoology

(xxvi) Literature of any one of the following languages: Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu and English.

Each paper carries 250 marks each and can be written in any language under the eighth schedule of the Indian Constitution.


The Final round is the Interview round. The interview round is created to test the all round personality of the character. It exposes them to emotional intelligence and see how they deal with certain situations and conversations.The Interview test will be of 275 marks and the total marks for written examination is 1750. This sums up to a Grand Total of 2025 Marks, based on which the final merit list will be prepared