Parliament Of India

The Parliament is the supreme legislative body of the country. It comprises the President and 2 houses: the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha.

The Lok Sabha

It is the lower house consisting of 545 members in which 530 represent States, 13 represent Union Territories and 2 are nominated by the President from Anglo-Indian Community. The other 543 members are directly elected by the people from the constituencies of the states and their term is of 5 years. A speaker is elected among 543 members. Any Indian citizen above 18 years of age can vote for them. The maximum strength limit is 552 members. Smt. Sumitra Mahajan is the present speaker of the Lok Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha

Also, know as the upper house, it consists of 245 members with a maximum limit of 250. 232 members are indirectly elected by members of legislative bodies of the states. The other 12 members are nominated by the President. These 12 members can be from different stratum of the society in the fields of arts, social science, literature, etc. They are elected for 6 years and the new members are appointed in the place of one-third members after every 2 years. For a bill to be passed it has to be approved by both houses. The present Chairperson of Rajya Sabha is Mr. Venkaiah Naidu and The Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha is Harivansh Narayan Singh 

Image result for present president

The President

He is elected by the elected members of Parliament of India and the state legislatures and serves for a tenure of 5 years. The present president of India is Mr. Ram Nath Govind. By the constitution, he is bound to act on the advice of the Prime minister and cabinet as long as the advice is not violating the constitution. A bill can be formed into law only when the president signs it. The main duty of the president is to protect and preserve the constitution. The Chief Justice of India and other judges are also appointed by him. He is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.