National Disaster Management Authority(NDMA)

The Government of India recognising the importance of disaster management as a national priority had set up a High powered committee in 1999 and a Nationals Committee in 2001 after the Gujarat earthquake to make recommendations on the preparation of disaster management plans and suggest effective mitigation mechanisms.

However, after the Indian Ocean Tsunami of 2004, the Government of India took a defining step in the legislative history of the country by enacting the Disaster Management Act 2005. The act provided for the creation of National Disaster Management Authority to spearhead and implement a holistic and integrated approach to disaster management in the country

Objectives of the NDMA:

To promote a culture of prevention preparedness and resilience at all levels for knowledge, innovation and education.

To encourage mitigation measures based on technology, traditional wisdom and environmental sustainability.

To mainstream disaster management into the developmental planning process.

To ensure efficient mechanism for identification assessment and monitoring of disaster risks

To establish institutional and techno-legal frameworks to create an enabling regulatory environment and a compliance regime and so on.

Functions of the NDMA:

To lay down policies on disaster management. 

To approve the national plan.

To approve plans prepared by Ministries and departments of the Government of India in accordance with the national plan.

To laid out guidelines to be followed by the state disaster management authority is in drawing of the state plan.

To co-ordinate the enforcement and implementation of the policy and planning for disaster management.

To recommend provision of funds for the purpose of mitigation. 

To provide such support to other countries affected by major disasters as may be determined by the central government.

To lay down broad policies and guidelines for the functioning of the National Institute of disaster management.