Campaigning for final phase of assembly elections in Bihar ends today

In Bihar, campaigning for the third and final phase of assembly elections will end this evening.

In this phase, 78 assembly constituencies spread over 15 districts of Seemanchal, Kosi, Tirhut and Mithilanchal will go to polls on Saturday.

Polling for the bye-election to Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat in West Champaran district will also be held simultaneously in this phase.

In this phase, BJP is contesting 35 seats and its partner Janta Dal (United) in 37 assembly constituencies.

Other constituents Vikas Sheel Insan Party (VIP) has 5 candidates in fray while former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi led Hindustani Awam Morcha is contesting on one seat.

In the opposition Grand alliance, RJD is contesting on 46 and Congress on 25 seats.

CPI has two candidates in fray and CPI ML is contesting on 5 seats in this phase.

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) has fielded 42 candidates.

In the newly constituted Grand Democratic Secular Front (GDSF) Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) is contesting on 23 seats and its ally BSP on 19 seats.

The last day of campaigning is witnessing hectic rallies, public meetings and road shows of star campaigners and senior leaders of all major political parties.

AIR correspondent reports, BJP President JP Nadda will hold public meetings in Hayaghat and Jale in Darbhanga.

Senior BJP leader and Defence minister Rajnath Singh will hold election rallies in Benipatti and Balrampur.

Several leaders are focused on public meetings in Araria, Katihar, Kishanganj and Purnea also criss crossing from one place to another.

Addressing a public meeting at Haflagaon in Katihar Janta Dal United president and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar said that he has settled Bihar on the right path.

Mr Kumar warned that if voted to power RJD will bring lawlessness and anarchy.

On the other hand RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad said in Saharsa that leaders of NDA are playing the game of fear psychosis, it appears that they have conceded their defeat.

Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) Chief Upendra Kushwaha said people of the state will ditch Chief Minister Nitish Kumar this time.

Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP) Chief Chirag Paswan claimed in Patna that casting vote to JD(U) is wastage of vote.

Leaders of NDA and Grand Alliance are levelling allegations and counter allegations against each other. 

Categories: News