National literature award- Sahitya Akademi awards for 2020 announced

The prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award

The Sahitya Akademi has announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards and selected 20 creators, including senior Congress leader Sri M.Veerappa Moily and Hindi poet Ms. Anamika, for the Academy Award of the year 2020. The Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary honour in India, which the Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters, annually confers on writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the 24 major Indian languages, i.e., English and the 22 listed languages.

Anamika is the first female poet to be nominated for the Sahitya Akademi Award for Hindi poetry. The names announced on this academy on Friday include seven poets, four novelists, five short-stories writers, two playwrights and one memoir and epic writer.

According to the academy, the awards in 20 Indian languages ​​have been declared, while the names of those in Malayalam, Nepali, Oriya and Rajasthani languages ​​will be announced later. Moily is being awarded for the Kannada epic “Sri Bahubali Ahimsadigvijayam”, while Ms.Arundhati Subramaniam is given the Academy Award for the English poetry “When God Is a Traveller”.

Ms.Anamika to be honored for ”Tokri mein Digant” in her Hindi poetry collection “Their Gatha-2014”.
Other honored authors include Sri Harish Meenashru in Gujarati, Sri R.S. Bhaskar in Konkani, Sri Irungbam Deven in Manipuri, Sri Roopchand Hansdah in Santhali, Sri Maheshchandra Sharma Gautam in Sanskrit and Sri Nikhileshwar in Telugu. For novels Nanda Khare in Marathi, Imaiyam in Tamil and Hussain-ul-Haq in Urdu are included.

The short story will be awarded to Sri Apurba Kumar Saikia in Assamese, late Sri Dharanidhar Owari in Bodo, late Hirday Koul Bharti in Kashmiri, Sri Kamalkant Jha in Maithili and Sri Gurdev Singh Rupana in Punjabi. Sri Gian Singh in Dogri and Sri Jetho Lalwani in Sindhi for his plays, while Bengali writer Sankar (Manishankar Mukhopadhyay) has been chosen for the memoir. All these will be honored with a cash of one lakh rupees, a shawl with a copper-plaque. The date for the ceremony of honor has not been set yet. 21 child authors and 18 teen authors were nominated for Baal sahitya and Yuva Sahitya Akademi awards respectively.