ICC WORLD T20 2021

The International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will be held in the UAE and Oman due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation in India. The BCCI will be the hosts of the event. The tournament will now be held in Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground. The tournament is planned to happen from October 17 to November 14, 2021.

The first round of the tournament, comprising the eight qualifying teams, will now be split between Oman and UAE. Four of these teams will then progress to the Super 12s round where they’ll join the eight automatic qualifiers who are in top 8 positions in World T20 rankings. The 8 teams that are playing in round 1 to get into the Super 12 are the former champions SriLanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Namibia. 4 teams out of the 8 will be qualified for the World T20 Super 12. 2 teams will join the Pool A and two will join Pool B teams.

First Round

Group A:
SriLanka, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and Oman are in Group A. The team that comes first will enter Pool A of Super 12. Similarly, the team that comes second will enter the Pool B of Super 12.

Group B:
Bangladesh, Netherlands, Scotland and Namibia are in Group B. The team that comes first will enter Pool B of Super 12. Similarly, the team that comes second will enter the Pool A of Super 12.

Second Round

Pool A
Pool A already has 4 teams qualified. They are Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and Pakistan.

Pool B
Pool B already has 4 teams qualified. They are England, India, South Africa and Afghanistan.

After the league stages of the World T20, Qualifiers will be played for Finals. India performs well in every season of the World T20. But the last time India won the trophy was 2007. After that, India qualified for the playoffs almost everytime. But India did’t have the luck of winning trophy. After 2007, Dhoni and Kohli led the team in T20s. Every time India would fail in a single knock out game and would return with empty hands. This time we don’t expect the same. Prior to T20 World Cup, IPL is going to be conducted in UAE. That would be a good preparation not only for Indian players but all around the world. This time, the team does not believe in one or two players to score runs and make the team win. Every slot in the line up has heavy competition. There are 2-3 players fighting for each position. That is a healthy headache for the selection committee as well as the captain. Whoever tried in the respective spot during India’s ordinary tours played well. This time, we hope India would win the cup under Kohli’s captaincy. Happy to share my thoughts. Thank you everyone who supports. Stay safe!

Categories: Sports

Tagged as: ,