Indian Sisterhood

The name “The Seven Sisters” was first heard in the year 1972. It refers to the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, and Tripura. These states are home to majestic flora and fauna, and beautiful terrains.
These states are home to many tribes and around 220 languages are spoken in these states.
Further, are some more interesting facts about these states.

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is the largest state among the Seven Sisters. The capital of the state is Itanagar. The state is mostly covered with greenery. Arunachal Pradesh is also called the Orchid Paradise of India. It is also the birthplace of the Sixth Dalai Lama, Tsangyang Gyatso. The state is inhabited by 26 major tribes and 100 sub – tribes.


Assam is one of the most progressive states in India. Guwahati is the capital of Assam. It is well known for its silk and tea. Assam is home to various animals such as one horned Indian rhinoceros, tiger, wild water buffalo, elephants, and various species of Asiatic birds. The state also has its own State Anthem.


Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya. It is the wettest place on Earth. It recieves over 10,000 mm of rain in a year. Meghalaya is known for its Living Root Bridges. The life span of these bridges is said to be 500 years old. Meghalaya is also famous for its waterfalls, forests and biodiversity.


Mizoram became a part of India only 34 years ago. It is the leading producer of bamboo in India. Mizoram is enriched with flora and fauna. Around 90.68% of land is covered by forests which attracts many wildlife photographers. It is the second most literate state in India.


Manipur and Nagaland were the only two states where World War II was fought in India. It is famous for its natural beauty, rich culture and traditions. Imphal is the capital of Manipur. It attracts alot of tourists for it’s beauty and rich historical background.


Nagaland is famous for its festivals and is known as “The Land of Festivals”. The locals celebrate various festivals every month. World’s hottest chilli pepper is cultivated in Nagaland. 90% of the people in Nagaland follow Christianity.


Tripura is the smallest state among the Seven sisters and is famous for its tribe culture and food. It is well known for its tea plantations and beautiful gardens. Agartala is the capital of the state.

The Seven Sisters, is the best place to visit if you’re a fan of natural beauty.

Categories: Education, News

Tagged as: