Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2020

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for sports and games is the highest sporting award of India. The award is named after, Rajiv Gandhi former Prime Minister of India. This award will be given annually for those sports persons who make india proud that year. This is not such an easy award to win. Out of several sports persons of different sports who contribute their efforts for making India proud, only three will ne selected as recipients of the award. But in 2020, there were 5 finalists for receiving this award. Let us see those Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award 2020 recipients.

The final recipients of Rajiv Gandhi khel Ratna award 2020 are:

  1. Shri Rohit Sharma
  2. Shri Mariyappan Thangavelu.
  3. Ms. Rani Rampal
  4. Ms. Vinesh Phogat
  5. Ms. Manika Batra

This is the first time that five five sports persons received Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award on the occasion of the National Sports Day on 29th August 2020.
Shri Rohit Sharma is the fourth Indian cricketer to win Khel Ratna. Our Master, Sachin Tendulkar won Khel Ratna in 1997-98 and was the first cricketer to win followed by MS Dhoni in 2007-08 and Virat Kohli in 2018. Rohith Sharma was the highest run getter(648 runs) with 5 centuries in ODI 2019. He is also the most successful IPL captain with 4 titles.

Shri Mariyappan T. is the third Indian Para Athlet to win Khel Ratna after Devendra Jhajharia in 2017 and Deepa Malik in 2019.
Mariyappan created history by winning gold medal for India in men’s High Jump under T-42 Category at the 2016 paralympic games in Rio.

Ms. Rani Rampal is the third Indian Hockey player to receive Khel Ratna after Dhanraj Pillay in 1999-2000 and Sardar Singh in 2017. She has a silver and a bronze medal in Asia Games and a Junior World Cup bronze medal in her cabinet. She also won ‘Best young player of the tournament’ title for her performance in Women’s Hockey World Cup in 2010.

Ms. Vinesh Phogat is the fourth Indian Wrestler to receive Khel Ratna after Sushil kumar in 2009,Sakshi Malik in 2016 and Bajrang Punia in 2019. Vinesh created history by winning the gold medal in the 50 kg category of freestyle wrestling. This was never achieved by a female wrestler before which made a stunning mark on her profile.

Ms. Manika Batra is the first Indian Table Tennis player to receive Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award which is for highest sports honor in India. Batra is the highest ranked India table tennis player in the world. She created history by winning four medals at the Commonwealth Games. She is top ranked female table tennis player in India and ranked 47th in the world.

Rohit Sharma who was in UAE for IPL 2020 couldn’t attend for the ceremony as it was only allowed those who are currently in India had to take part in the ceremony. Vinesh Phogat who was supposed to be in Sonepat, had to be in quarantine after she tested positive for Covid-19 on the eve of award ceremony. Rani Rampal and Mariyappan attended the ceremony from Bengaluru and Commonwealth Games champion paddler Manika Batra joined from Pune.

Categories: News