Small yet distinct

The word ‘country’ makes one think of a large land mass. However, not every country is huge. There are some countries that are really small in size. They are so tiny, that some of them can even be covered by foot! Some of these countries can fit entirely within the city of another country. The smallest country in the world, the Vatican City, for example, can fit into the city of Rome, capital of Italy. Many of these countries are only small in size. With their wealth and natural resources, they can even compete with any of the larger countries. So, here’s a showcase of some of the small, yet distinct countries.

• Vatican City

Vatican City is the world’s smallest fully independent nation state. It is also the smallest by population. Situated on the western bank of the Tiber river, the Vatican City’s 3.2 kilometre border is landlocked by Italy. The Vatican City has served as the official home of the pope of the Catholic church since 1377. However, Vatican City was not declared an independent state until the Lateran treaty of 1929 which created the independent state of Vatican City for the Catholic church. Today nearly 75% of the Vatican’s citizens are members of the clergy. Along with the centuries old buildings and gardens the Vatican maintains its own banking and telephone systems post office pharmacy newspaper and radio and television stations. Its 600 citizens include the members of the Swiss guard a security detail charged with protecting the Pope since 1506. The most significant building in Vatican City is Saint Peter’s Basilica. It is the Italian language that is used by most of those located within the state however the official documents are written in Latin.

• South Korea

Compared to the giants of Asia like India and China, South Korea is much smaller in size. Its total area is 100,032 square kilometres. South Korea has one pf the most homogeneous populations in the world which are thought to be descended from several Mongol tribes that migrated from central Asia. Tourism is a fast growing industry in South Korea.

• Portugal

Portugal is a sovereign state in Western Europe. It comprises of the continental part of Portugal on the western coast of the Iberian Peninsula and the small archipelagos of Madeira and the Azores in the Atlantic Ocean.

• Hungary

The name “Hungary” may very well come from the medieval Latin word ‘Hungaria’ which translates as “Land of Huns”. Another source states that the name is derived from the Turkish words on ‘Ogur’ meaning ‘ten arrows’ or ‘ten people’


The United Arab Emirates is a constitutional federation of seven Emirates; Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Quwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah. The federation was formally established on 2nd December, 1971. The UAE’s oil reserves are the seventh largest in the world while its natural gas reserves are the worlds seventeen largest. The Dubai police fleet includes Lamborghini, a Ferrari and a Bentley. This is to allow them to catch speeders who can outrun other cars.

• Dominican republic

The island of Hispaniola, the second largest island of the Antilles in the Caribbean contains two separate countries, the Dominican republic and Haiti. The Dominican republic is the only country in the world to have an image of the Holy Bible on its national flag.

• Panama • Georgia • Ireland • Iceland • Sri Lanka • Costa Rica • Bhutan • Switzerland • Belgium • Israel • Fiji • Qatar • Jamaica • Singapore • Maldives …to name a few others.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice day!🌼