Process of filing nominations for third phase of assembly elections begins in West Bengal and Assam

The process of filing of nominations has begun today with the issuance of notification for the Third Phase of Assembly Elections in the states of Assam and West Bengal.

In Assam and West Bengal, it is also the last date for the withdrawal of candidature for the First Phase of Assembly Elections while the filing of nominations closes for the Second Phase today.

In Assam, 47 Assembly Constituencies will go to polls on the 27th of March during the First Phase while polling will be held in 30 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal in this phase.

The Second Phase of polling in Assam and West Bengal will be conducted on the 1st of April in 39 Assembly Constituencies of Assam and 30 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal.

Third Phase polling in these two states will be held on 6th of April when 40 Assembly Constituencies of Assam and 31 Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal will go to polls. 

In Assam, notification for the third and final phase of polls has been issued today . 40 seats will be covered in this phase in 12 districts. Over 70 lakh voters could exercise their voting rights in this phase. The BJP has already announced the names of state party President Ranjit Kumar Dass as candidate at Patacharkuchi and party’s heavyweight Himanta Biswa Sarma as a candidate for Jalukbari constituency.

Meanwhile, today  is the last day of filing for nomination in the second phase where polling will be held on 1st of April in 39 seats. On the other hand, today is also the last day of withdrawal of nomination papers for the first phase of polls. 284 nominations were found valid in the first phase. Yesterday 1 Independent candidate has withdrawn nomination paper.

In West Bengal, BJP candidate Shubhendu Adhikari has filed his nomination from Nandigram constituency today. He submitted papers at the Sub Divisional Office at Haldia.

Sanyukt Morcha backed CPIM candidate Minakshi Mukherjee has also submitted her nomination papers this morning.

It may be noted that Chief Minister of West Bengal and Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee is contesting from Nandigram seat. She had filed her nomination last Wednesday. Polling will be held in this seat along with 29 other constituencies in the second phase on 1st of April. Today is the last date for filing nominations for the second phase and withdrawal of candidature for the first phase. Notification for the third phase has been issued today.

Meanwhile, Ms Banerjee, who is undergoing treatment at the SSKM hospital in Kolkata after being injured in Nandigram, is responding well. The six member medical board has examined her condition this morning. Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court TBN Radhakrishnan paid a visit to the Chief Minister today. 

Categories: News