World Test Championship 2021-2023

The longest form of cricket i.e., Test cricket was started in 1877. The first test match was played
between England and Australia in Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Australia. Australian team emerged as the winner of the first test. This was a timeless test match it means that no specific number of days is fixed for playing and play will not stop until there is any result. The five days test cricket that we are familiar with was first played in 1985. From 1877 to 2021 we do not have a champion team in test cricket. It was in 2019 when ICC decided to conduct a World Test Championship to decide the first test champion among the test playing nations. It was in 2021 that the first Test Championship final was played between New Zealand team and the Indian side and New Zealand become the first Test Champions by defeating India.

Now it the time to start the next edition of WTC and ICC has announced the schedule of next WTC which will happen from 2021 to 2023. This edition of the WTC will start with the starting of the test series of England VS India in England in August. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies. Each team will play only six series. Out of the six series three will be home series and three will be away series for each team. Afghanistan, Ireland, Zimbabwe are teams that are full test playing members of the ICC but will
not take part in WTC 2021-2023. The total number of matches each team will play is given below.

India Australia England New
Bangladesh South
Pakistan Sri
New Zealand232222
Bangladesh 222222
South Africa333222
Sri Lanka322222
West Indies232222
Fixture of series of each team in WTC 2021-23
TeamsAway Home
India VSEngland, South Africa, Bangladesh New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Australia
Australia VSIndia, Pakistan, Sri LankaEngland, West Indies, South Africa
England VSAustralia, West Indies, Pakistan New Zealand, India, South Africa
New Zealand VSIndia, Pakistan, EnglandBangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka
Bangladesh VSNew Zealand, South Africa, West
India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
South Africa VSNew Zealand, England, Australia India, West Indies, Bangladesh
Pakistan VSWest Indies, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka Australia, New Zealand, England
Sri Lanka VSBangladesh, India, New Zealand Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies
West Indies VSSouth Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia Pakistan, England, Bangladesh
Away and home series of each team in WTC 21-23

This year point system is different from the first edition. This time each match will be worth of 12 points. A win would be of worth 12 points, a tie and draw would be of 6 and 4 points respectively and lose would be no points. Point will be deducted from the overall point as penalty if the over rate is behind the required over rate after every match. One point will get deducted for each over it was behind. The top two teams of the points table will qualify for the final schedule to be played in 2023 and dates are to be announced.

Categories: Sports

Tagged as: , , ,