Facts About The Indian National Flag

Pingali Venkayya, a freedom fighter from Andhra Pradesh designed the Indian National Flag.

India adopted its national flag on July 22, 1947, just before its independence.

It was first hoisted on August 7, 1906, at Parsi Bagan Square in Calcutta.

The first Indian flag consisted of three horizontal stripes of green, yellow and red.

As per the law, The Indian National Flag, is to be made of khadi which is a special type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk.

Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha or KKGSS is the only licensed manufacturer and supplier of the Indian National Flag. The original cloth flag can only be made by them.

The saffron colour present in the flag portrays courage and sacrifice while the white colour depicts truth, peace and purity. Prosperity is symbolised by the green colour while the Ashok Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma.

Ashoka Chakra, with 24 equally spaced spokes, in navy blue colour is present in the middle white stripe in the national flag.

The first Indian to raise the Indian National flag on foreign soil was Bhikaji Rustom Cama.

Before 2002, normal citizens of India were not allowed to hoist the National Flag except on Independence Day and Republic Day. In 2002, the Supreme Court of India amended the flag code and gave rights to all citizens to hoist the flag any time as per the flag code.

As per the flag code, the flag must be hoisted in the daytime and there should be no flag or any other symbolic representation above it.

The Indian flag must never be put on the ground and must never be placed upside down.

Moreover, When a foreign dignitary travels in a car provided by the government, the flag should be flown on the right side of the car while the flag of the foreign country should be flown on the left side.

Categories: Culture and History