What is UPSC civil services examination

UPSC- union public service commission

UPSC is India’s central agency.

CSE is widely known as ‘IAS EXAM’, even though it is conducted to recruit candidates to about 24 top government services like IAS, IPS, IRS, IFS ,etc.

UPSC conducts exams like Civil Services Exam (CSE) to recruit candidates into top government services like IAS, IPS, IFS etc. Civil services exam is one of the most popular examination conducted by upsc.

UPSC civil services exam mainly consists of three stages.

1. Preliminary. 2. Mains. 3. Interview

Educational requirements

Any graduate can attempt the UPSC civil services examination. The graduate can be in any stream, it may be a regular degree or distance education.

Age limit

To attend the UPSC civil services examination, a person should cross the 21 years by August of that specified year. This is the minimum age limit for UPSC CSE. The upper age limit is 32 for general category, 35 for other backward classes (OBC) , 37 for scheduled castes (SC) and scheduled Tribes (ST).

UPSC recruits candidates to both civil services as well as defence services.